FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

September 6, 2012 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Austin Hall

Members present:

Nancy Baker (H&SS); Helen Berg (COE); Don Bumpass (COBA); Tracy Bilsing (H&SS); Kevin Clifton (FA&MC); Donna Cox (COE); Jeff Crane (H&SS); James Crosby (H&SS); Diane Dowdy (H&SS); Mark Frank (COBA); Randall Garner (CJ); Debbi Hatton (H&SS); Joan Hudson (COS); C. Renée James (COS); Bill Jasper (COS); Gerald Kohers (COBA); Hayoung Lim (FA&MC); Paul Loeffler (COS); Dennis Longmire (CJ); Joyce McCauley (COE); Sheryl Murphy-Manley (FA&MC); Dwayne Pavelock (COS); Debra Price (COE); Lisa Shen (NGL); Tracy Steele (H&SS); Stacy Ulbig (H&SS); Anthony Watkins (FA&MC); Ricky White (COS); Pam Zelbst (COBA)

Members not present:

Richard Henriksen (COE); Doug Ullrich (COS)

Called to order: 3:30 p.m. in Austin Hall by Chair Tracy Steele

Passing of gavel: Outgoing Chair Debbi Hatton passed the gavel to incoming Chair Tracy Steele.

Special Guests: President Dana Gibson and Provost Jaimie Hebert recognized outgoing senators.

Approval of Minutes: Unanimously approved May 3, 2012 minutes with corrections.

New Business:

C. Renee James was elected as chair-elect.

There was a brief discussion of the wording of the Senate Resolution regarding eCollege. The previously suggested wording was: "The Faculty Senate requests that DELTA negotiate an end to the eCollege contract with Pearson immediately. This would allow students and faculty to operate a uniform LMS for both Online and Face-to-Face courses which will enrich the teaching and learning experience for all concerned parties."

In light of the ongoing negotiations, Senate agreed on a revised wording for the resolution:

RESOLUTION: "The Faculty Senate supports DELTA in its negotiations to end the eCollege contract with Pearson as soon as possible."

This resolution passed unanimously.

Because of the influx of new senators, there was some time taken for all senators to introduce themselves. The new senators for 2012-2013 are Nancy Baker, Helen Berg, Donna Cox, James Crosby, Joan Hudson, Richard Henriksen, Hayoung Lim, Dennis Longmire, Lisa Shen, Stacy Ulbig, and Anthony Watkins. Incumbents Donald Bumpass, Mark Frank, and Renee James were reelected.

As per the agenda, Chair Steele briefly summarized a few concerns and issues that had been brought to her attention over the summer, including, but not limited to...

- IDEA
- Communication
- Graduate Support
- Parking (cost)
- Investigating if Sam Houston has a culture of intimidation, sexism, racism, ageism which can make it a hostile environment in which to work.
 - Smoke Free Campus Rules and Enforcement
- Travel Reimbursement (in particular, there has been a problem with a faculty member submitting a travel reimbursement form with receipts, but not getting the full amount requested and getting no explanation for the discrepancy)
 - Quality Online Instruction (Faculty Affairs Committee from 2011-12)
 - Strengthening university and community relationship
- Required, or coerced, uncompensated teaching of classes or private study for which students are getting credit and are paying tuition to the University

There were several questions and comments about why the faculty excellence awards are not noted in the President's Annual Faculty and Staff Welcome Address.

RECOMMENDATION: "Faculty Senate recommends that the four excellence award recipients (ACE, Teaching, Service, and Research and Creative Accomplishments) are also recognized at a public event, such as the President's Annual Staff and Faculty meeting or other general faculty meeting."

Debbi Hatton provided a brief update on the summer activities of the Core Curriculum Committee. All of the component area committees have developed rubrics for evaluating proposals and are developing workshops for the faculty. Senator Hatton exhorted everyone to get those proposals in early, as the proposal process is involved. Forms and dates are on the "core curriculum" website linked to on the SHSU page:

http://www.shsu.edu/~vaf www/curriculum/CoreCurriculum2014.html

Faculty Senate recommends that Kandi Tayebi and/or Dick Eglsaer announce to all faculty members the core workshop schedule for the various component areas.

Regarding the Excellence in Teaching Committee recommendations made in the spring of 2012, Senator Kohers is not sure whether Senate's suggestions have been incorporated into the Excellence in Teaching selection procedures. In particular there was a question about whether the committee will indeed meet early in the academic year to consider the Piper award nominee. Faculty Senate discussed questions about the makeup of the committee, and then nominated three faculty members for the Excellence in Teaching Committee. The nominees were unanimously accepted.

Senator Kohers stated that the SHSU Ring Committee would like a faculty representative. A nominee was suggested and unanimously selected.

President Gibson has asked for recommendations for faculty members to serve on the "Visioning Committee." Suggestions for faculty who could best fill that role included previous chairs of Faculty

Senate, along with previous chairs of Senate committees. A list of eight faculty members was compiled to present to President Gibson and Provost Hebert.

Senators then split into their respective committees to select committee chairs and discuss some of the upcoming issues those committees will address.

Academic Affairs Committee

Sheryl Murphy-Manley was elected as chair of Academic Affairs Committee, which includes members Kevin Clifton, James Crosby, Bill Jasper, Paul Loeffler, Doug Ullrich, and Rick White.

Committee on Committees

Gerald Kohers was elected as chair of Committee on Committees, which includes members Nancy Baker, Randy Garner, Richard Henriksen, Hayoung Lim, Dennis Longmire, and Debra Price.

Faculty Affairs Committee

Mark Frank was elected as chair of Faculty Affairs Committee, which includes members Helen Berg, Donna Cox, Jeff Crane, Diane Dowdey, Joyce McCauley, and Stacy Ulbig.

University Affairs Committee

Tracy Bilsing was elected as chair of University Affairs Committee, which includes members Don Bumpass, Joan Hudson, Dwayne Pavelock, Lisa Shen, Anthony Watkins, and Pam Zelbst.

The Senate adjourned at 4:40 p.m.