# FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

# September 9, 2010

#### **Members Present:**

Tracy Bilsing (CHSS), Len Breen (CoE), Donald Bumpass (CoBA), Rebecca Bustamente (CoE), Erin Cassidy (NGL), Donna Desforges (CHSS), Mark Frank (CoBA), Chad Hargrave (CoAS), Debbi Hatton (CHSS), Renee James (CoAS), Bill Jasper (CoAS), Hee-Jong Joo (CoCJ), Gerald Kohers (CoBA), Paul Loeffler (CoAS) Drew Lopenzina (CHSS), Joyce Mc Cauley (CoE), Sheryl Murphy-Manley (CoAS), Dwayne Pavelock (CoAS), Ling Ren (CoCJ), Sheryl Serres (CoE), Doug Ullrich (CoAS), Ricky White (CoAS).

#### **Members Not Present:**

Carl Brewer (CoBA), Jeff Crane (CHSS), Tracy Steele (CHSS)

#### Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 by outgoing Chair Loeffler.

## **Special Guests:**

President Dana Gibson and Provost David Payne were in attendance to welcome the senators into a new session. President Gibson thanked the senators for their hard work and dedication to faculty governance on campus.

Outgoing senators - Brian Loft, Mack Hines, Melinda Miller, Brian Oetiker, Darci Hill, Bill Jasper, Gerald Kohers and Doug Ullrich were presented certificates recognizing their work for the past three years by campus President Gibson and Senate Chair Loeffler. Senators Jasper, Kohers and Ullrich were re-elected to the Senate.

Chair Loeffler was presented with a plaque to recognize his leadership of the Senate during the past year.

Chair Loeffler passed the gavel to incoming chair Mark Frank who opened the floor to nominations for vice-chair. Senator Debbi Hatton was nominated and acclaimed unanimously.

## **Approval of Minutes:**

The April 22, 2010 minutes were reviewed and accepted with no changes.

Senators were asked to select a committee preference. Possible committee choices were Academic Affairs, Committee on Committees, Faculty Affairs, and University Affairs. Senators present were assigned to the committee of their first choice. Senators who were not present were assigned to committees by Chair Frank, Chair-elect Hatton and Senator Kohers. Committee assignments for 2010-2011 are:

#### **ACADEMIC AFFAIRS**

- Bill Jasper CoAS Math
- Doug Ullrich CoAS Agriculture
- Tracey Steele CHSS-History
- Renee James CoAS Physics
- Drew Lopenzina CHSS English
- Hee-Jong Joo CoCJ

#### **COMM ON COMM**

- Gerald Kohers CoBA Mangement Information Systems
- Paul Loeffler –CoAS Chemistry
- Sheryl Murphy-Manley CoAS Music
- Rebecca Bustamente CoE Educational Leadership & Counseling
- Len Breen CoE Language, Literacy and Special Populations

#### **FACULTY AFFAIRS**

- Donna Deforge –CHSS Psychology
- Chad Hargrave CoAS Biology
- Rick White CoAS- Chemistry
- Bill Brewer CoBA Accounting
- Ling Ren CoCJ
- Joyce McCauley CoE Language, Literacy and Special Populations

#### **UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS**

- Don Bumpass- CoBA Economics & International Business
- Erin Cassidy NGL
- Sheryl Serres CoE Educational Leadership & Counseling
- Tracy Bilsing CHSS English
- Jeff Crane CHSS History
- Dwayne Pavelock CoAS Agriculture

#### **Chair's Report:**

Chair Frank reminded the senators:

- -President Gibson will host a luncheon on Wednesday, September 15<sup>th</sup> in the Peabody Library.
- -Spring senate meetings will be held in the Peabody Library because Austin Hall is scheduled to be remodeled.
- -Provost Payne will address the Senate during the semester.
- -The College of Fine Arts and Mass Communication has been approved. The college's acronym has not been established.

Chair Frank and Past-Chair Loeffler discussed policy changes that occurred during the summer session with the Senate. Policies impacted included (1) Appointment to Thesis and Dissertation Committees, (2) Graduate Faculty Status, (3) Probation, Suspension and Termination.

Changes to the Banner portal were discussed. Chair Frank distributed screen shots of the portal page (appendix A) to the Senate. The Banner committee is seeking feedback from the faculty on the new portal. The full portal can be viewed at <a href="www.shsu.edu/erp/">www.shsu.edu/erp/</a> Members of the senate felt that the page needed fast links. Additional recommendations should be sent to Chair Frank.

While the Senate is not represented on the Council of Academic Deans (CAD), Chair Frank discussed topics covered during the summer sessions. Topics covered included the development of a standard cell phone and texting policy; the early retirement policy; changes to the ORP policy and evolution of teaching.

# **Committee Reports:**

Due to summer resignations, the Committee on Committees sent nominees for the Grievance and Student Service Fees committees forward. The names were unanimously accepted.

The newly formed committees were asked to meet briefly to select a chair and vice-chair. ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

- Bill Jasper Chair CoAS Math
- Doug Ullrich Vice-Chair CoAS Agriculture

COMM ON COMM

- Gerald Kohers Chair CoBA Management Information Systems
- Paul Loeffler Vice-Chair CoAS Chemistry

FACULTY AFFAIRS

- Donna Deforge Chair- CHSS Physics
- Chad Hargrave Vice-Chair CoAS Biology

UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS

- Don Bumpass Chair CoBA- Economics & International Business
- Erin Cassidy Vice-chair NGL

Committee chairs along with Chair Frank and Chair-elect Hatton will comprise the Senate's executive council. In the absence of the chair the vice-chair will assume the chair's duties.

The next Senate meeting will be held on September 23, 2010 in Austin Hall.

#### **Meeting Closed:**

The Senate was called to a close 4:56pm.

Respectfully submitted, Debbi Hatton, Chair-Elect Approved, 9/23/10