## Draft

## Faculty Senate Minutes, September 15, 2005

Senators Present: David Bailey; Jim Carter; Jerry Cook; Doug Constance; Peggy DeMers; James DeShaw; Jerry Dowling; Stacey Edmonson; Mark Frank; Mary Gutermuth; Lady Jane Hickey; Joan Hudson; Roseanne Keathley; Gerald Kohers; Paul Loeffler; Brian Loft; Philip Morris; Valerie Muehsam; Debra Price; Christopher White; Patricia Williams.

Senators Absent: Christopher Baldwin; Steven Cuvelier

Chair Harman called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

## Faculty Senate Minutes of May 2005:

Minutes for the May meeting were unavailable for approval.

Chair Harman introduced the winners of the Faculty Senate Leadership Awards and presented the recipients with plaques. Winners were: Roger Abshire, Chair, Dean Dean Lewis and Ann Holder.

Chair Harman recognized the service of James Carter and thanked him for his efforts as Faculty Senate Chair Elect for the 2004-2005 school year. She presented him with a plaque.

James Carter recognized the service of Marsha Harman and presented her with two books.

Dr. Payne recognized the service of Marsha Harman and presented her with a plaque.

Chair Harman then recognized President Gaertner who presented outgoing senators with certificates commending their service during their term. Senators receiving certificates were: Mary Gutermuth, Marsha Harman, Deborah Hatton, David Henderson, Joe Kirk, Thomas Kordinak, Bill Lutterschmidt, Holly Miller, and Gary Smith. Incoming Senators, Jerry Cook, Doug Constance, Jerry Dowling, Mary Gutermuth, Deborah Hatton, Rosanne Keathley, and Brian Loft were welcomed. Linda Cook was elected to fulfill the remainder of James Carter's term and Jay Whatley was elected to fulfill the remainder of Bill Lutterschmidt's term.

The gavel was then passed to Debra Price, incoming Chair of the Senate.

Philip Morris was elected Chair-Elect of the Senate.

Chair Debra Price reported on the past APC meeting. Students requesting refunds for classes they have dropped cannot, by state law, receive a refund. The Curriculum

approval process is being streamlined. The first review will be done earlier in the semester for course name and number changes and will not have to go through further review. This will allow those changes to be quickly integrated into the course catalogue. Only substantive program requests and new courses required by those requests will go through the longer process.

Glenn Sanford reported that there are 151 new honors students on campus, up from 62 the previous year.

SHSU is now listed in the Houston phone book with a 281 area code. Individuals will be able to dial several numbers using the 281 area code and not incur long distance charges. Additionally, we can now dial certain sections of communities with 713 and 281 area codes from campus without paying long distance charges. One needs only to dial an 8 and then the ten-digit number. This does not apply to Spring or The Woodlands.

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Debra Price