

# University Faculty Senate Minutes Sam Houston State University March 4, 2004

**Members present:**, Christopher Baldwin, James Carter, Steven Cuvelier, Mary Lynn DeShazo, Stacey Edmonson, Mark Frank, Mary Gutermuth, Penny Hasekoester, Marsha Harman, , David Henderson Lady Jane Hickey, Gerald Kohers, S. Thomas Kordinak, Debra Price, Gary Smith, Kandi Tayebi, Tamara Waggener, Christopher White, Patricia Williams

**Member absent:** David Bailey (illness), Deborah Hatton (professional conflict) Joe Kirk (professional conflict), Paul Loeffler (professional conflict), Holly Miller (professional conflict), Valerie Muehsam (professional conflict)

# **Approval of Minutes**

Emendations for the minutes of February 19<sup>th</sup> were approved.

## **Committee Reports**

# Academic Affairs

The committee had not met since February 19<sup>th</sup>.

## **University Affairs**

Chair Waggener will check on dates and cost for the ETS group to present Student Instructional Report (SIR–II) and present that information to Provost Payne.

Regarding distribution of travel funds, Chair Waggener reported that she had information from two colleges but was lacking information from specific departments and two colleges. From the information gathered thus far there is not a huge discrepancy between colleges, but the demand exceeds the supply. Deans would like to see the travel funds increased since the current distribution guidelines are outdated. However, each department decides as a unit how the money will be disbursed among its faculty. There was a concern voiced that perhaps faculty used the money for vacations if they attended a conference where they did not make a presentation. The Senate found this amusing since the amount of funds available averaged \$400-\$500. Currently, travel funds and scholarships are distributed from the same fund; and scholarship awards have grown in number and amount.

## Faculty Affairs

The committee had nothing new to report except mediation and oral recordings were thorny issues being negotiated in the Faculty Grievance Policy.

#### Committee on Committees

Senator Kohers distributed a list of colleges and the current senators representing them. The Senate agreed unanimously to have allocation based on head count rather than FTE and to have 26 members for the 2004-2005 academic year while restructuring proceeds.

## **Chair's Report**

### APC Meeting:

- Chair Tayebi read the research fund awards approved by the APC at the most recent meeting.
- The Provost has asked for a list of volunteer drivers for insurance purposes, but it was unclear about whether this was restricted to university vehicles or personal vehicles.
- The Promotion and Tenure Policy is pending revision to allow individuals from small departments to opt for either the old policy or the new policy regarding tenure decisions. A recent tenure department vote was voided due to inappropriately following the new policy as it was then written.

### Texas Council of Faculty Senates

- SHSU is extremely low when compared to other Texas universities regarding salary increases in promotion.
- With State owned computers and telephones, there should be no expectation of privacy.
- An *ombudsman* is defined in the *American Heritage Dictionary* as one who investigates complaints and assists in achieving fair settlements. Four Texas universities already have an ombudsman–system in place. Some currently do not have the system but are working to install it.
- At some universities there is no cap for on-line courses so that the large enrollments actually result in overloads for instructors, but there is no additional compensation.
- Accountability measures are increasingly important in higher education, especially as they relate to *Closing the Gaps* and providing a quality education to everyone, including minorities.

### Academic Affairs Council

- This council deals primarily with curriculum. The timeline for submitting new courses is mid-October.
- Distance Education policy is inconsistent with the Coordinating Board policy.
- For any substantive changes in courses or programs, Deans will provide resources.
- Departments must keep syllabi for three years.
- Students taking a course for the third time must now pay out-of-state tuition, and Q's where courses are dropped are considered attempts.

• For promotion and tenure, high 5's and higher are preferred for teaching means. The publication average is 4.5-5.6 publications so that 5 publications are expected as a rule-of-thumb. It is unclear whether this number includes

### **Old Business**

 Parking – Dean Chapman and Joey Chandler have agreed to relocate university vehicles from their current faculty lot locations in order to increase faculty parking spaces.

# **New Business**

- There has been concern expressed by some faculty members that adjuncts are included with tenure/tenure-track faculty for teaching evaluations. [Numbers of each will be collected.]
- False Allegations & Complaints There was some confusion about a statement made in Arts & Sciences regarding false complaints. Provost Payne clarified that false complaints need to be formal and repetitive. If the complaint persists, then due process will be used for discipline. A warning would be issued, then a reprimand, and finally termination if the problem persisted.
- Institutional Research Requests Troy Courville contacted Chair Tayebi about a Senator requesting faculty salary info and wanted to know for what project the information would be used. Chair Tayebi was unaware of what project this was and asked Senators to inform her of needs for information from Institutional Research.
- Senator Hasekoester distributed a survey from Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP) asking that Senators provide feedback regarding the survey.
- Senator Price expressed a concern regarding funding for summer school and how it always seems to be so problematic.
- Senator Price also expressed a concern regarding aligning the policies being made with the Strategic Plan. [Senators expressed misgivings related to making policy on specific cases.]

Respectfully submitted,

Marsha Harman, Chair-Elect