University Faculty Senate Minutes December 5, 2002

Members present: Bill Abbott, Terry Bilhartz, Leonard Breen, Ted Creighton, Mary Lynn DeShazo, Mary Gutermuth, Marsha Harman, Penny Hasekoester, David Henderson, Joan Hudson, Ann Jerabek, Joe Kirk, Paul Loeffler, Valerie Muehsam, Kandi Tayebi, Tamara Waggo ner, Gene Young

Member absent: Joanne Ardovini-Brooker (professional conflict), Jeff Harwell, Deborah Hatton (professional conflict), Gerald Kohers (personal conflict), Holly Miller (class conflict), Debra Price (professional conflict), Sam Sullivan, Victoria Titterington (class conflict)

Approval of Minutes

The minutes for November 7 and November 21 were approved with emendations.

Chair's Report

Chair Muehsam reported that APC discussed the following matters:

- 1. Students should be required to be registered to use university resources, specifically graduate students.
- 2. A list was compiled of additional student fees to be proposed to President Gaertner.
- 3. Dean Chapman proposed a change in policy that would allow faculty and staff to have credit cards to make spur of the moment purchases.
- 4. The workload policy should be adjusted to give off-campus workers a workload reduction.

The APC passed a proposal to keep the library and computer lab open during holidays.

Faculty Women's Advisory Committee

Paul Loeffler moved that **the Senate establish a Faculty Women's Advisory Committee**. Mary Gutermuth seconded the motion. It was passed unanimously. The committee's charge and members will be decided at a later date.

Committee Reports

The Academic Affairs Committee is looking at the on-line evaluations statistics, specifically the reliability between paper and computer. They have found that student compliance was not researched as a factor influencing evaluations.

The Faculty Affairs Committee will meet with the Standing Faculty Tenure Committee so reports about the new tenure and promotions guidelines can coincide. The reports will be given to Dr. Payne in April and to the Senate and faculty at large in January.

Respectfully submitted,

Kandi Tayebi, Chair-Elect