# FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

February 8, 2018 3:30 P.M. – 5:00 P.M. Smith-Hutson Building room 300

#### Members Present (25).

Donald Albert (COSET), Burcu Ates (COE), Maria Botero (CHSS), Jonathan Breazeale (COBA), Donald Bumpass (COBA), William Carroll (CHSS), Madhusudan Choudhary (COSET), Kevin Clifton (FAMC), Brandy Doleshal (COSET), Diane Dowdey (CHSS), Andrea Foster (COE), Donovan Haines (COSET), Michael Hanson (NGL), Renee James (COSET), William Jasper (COSET), Santosh Kumar (COBA), Kenneth McIntyre (CHSS), Karen Miller (FAMC), Melinda Miller (COE), Vlad Radoias (COBA), Stephen Rapp (CHSS), D.T. Ratnapradia (COHS), Nancy Stockall (COE), Anthony Watkins (FAMC), Ryan Zapalac (COHS)

#### **Members Not Present (5).**

James Crosby (CHSS), Randall Garner (CJ), Bobby LaRue (CJ), Helen Berg (COE), Eric Marsh (FAMC)

#### Called to Order.

3:29 PM, Smith-Hutson Building room 300 by Chair Jonathan Breazeale.

## **Approval of Minutes.**

The January 25 minutes were unanimously approved.

#### **Special Guest.**

Dr. Tracy Bilsing - Assistant Dean, Honors College.

Dr. Bilsing briefed the senate on the upcoming 11th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium. Dr. Bilsing also introduced the Thesis 180 competition that challenges students to deliver a verbal presentation in 180 seconds. Information about both events was distributed to the senate.

#### TCFS CFS Report.

Chair-Elect Anthony Watkins reported on the February 2 TSUS Council of Faculty Senates meeting. Topics addressed included;

Faculty Perception Surveys across the system schools.

D.O. program status

Hazelwood/D.O. program

Legislative Concerns

#### D.O. program status

One of the sticking points has been residency slot guarantees for our program. While COCA expects the program to have ready slots available for program students, residency locations are understandably hesitant to reserve such slots for a program not yet established. The Vice Chancellor and TSUS system are confident there will be plenty of time to get residency contracts in place.

### Hazelwood/D.O. program

According to Deputy Chancellor for Finance Daniel Harper, Hazelwood will not apply to our proposed D.O. program. While the university is a state institution, the program is not state funded. This is based on the U.T. Tyler pharmacy model and their interpretation of existing statues and rules.

## Chair's Report.

Topics addressed included; Dishonesty Tracking. Houstonian Article on COCA Cease and Desist Letter. Bookstore Relocation Collegiality.

Following consultation with the Provost, the chair asked for volunteers to serve on a committee to address academic dishonesty, specifically a system to track repeat offenders. Senators Bobby LaRue (CJ), Brandy Doleshal (COSET), Melinda Miller (COE), and Diane Dowdey (CHSS) volunteered.

Regarding collegiality, the council of deans is opposed to its removal from the T&P process.

#### **Committee Reports.**

The Faculty Affairs Committee has reviewed policy document 900417 (Reappointment, Tenure, Promotion) and a draft was delivered to the senate via email. Committee Chair Ryan Zapalac reviewed the committee's recommendations point by point and the senate engaged in lively discussion primarily on the following points.

- Usage and meaning of the term "chair."
- Participation of administrators on department DPTAC committees.

There is inconsistent and confusing use of the term "Chair" regarding departments and department "DPTAC" committees. Senate discussion recommended specifying tenure unit chair and/or DPTAC chair.

A motion was make to revise section 3.3 of the policy to state that tenured faculty members with an administrative position of 50 percent or higher are not eligible to serve on a department DPTAC. The motion was seconded. Additional discussion suggested that the motion be tabled until the next senate meeting. The Chair called for a vote on the motion and it was defeated with a majority against and 2 votes for.

#### **Committee Assignments.**

Faculty Affairs will continue to revise policy document 900417 following comments from the full senate.

**Adjournment:** 5:06 PM