







## The Distinguished Educator of the Year award recognizes and honors alumni educators who have made a significant contribution to the field of education. This year's Distinguished Educator are Bill Chapman, Ann

Lê, Janice Taylor, Heidi Sebren and Christopher Eckford. This group of outstanding educators was celebrated at the Distinguished Educator of the Year Ceremony on Saturday, March 4, 2023. Meet the Honorees, see event photos Pictured from left to right: Dean Stacey Edmonson, Bill Chapman, Ann Lê, Janice Taylor, Heidi Sebren, Christopher Eckford, And Provost Michael Stephenson

# Congratulations to Rodney Louis, Ed. Leadership Doctoral Student and Claughton Middle School Principal, named Spring ISD secondary Principal of the Year! Watch the video

People of the COE

Submitted by Cynthia Martinez-Garcia

**Dr. Jessica McQueston** was elected to the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Special and



appointment begins at the conclusion of the 2023 AERA conference next month.

Inclusive Education Research SIG officer team. . Her 3-year



conference include:





\*Dr. Ricardo Montelongo was the recipient of the 2023 TACHE Distinguished Faculty Award. \*Higher Education Leadership (HEDL) doctoral student Rebecca Saiz and Dr. Silvestre were selected as fellows in the Career Leadership and Development Institute, a pre-conference professional development event. \*HEDL doctoral students Diana Barrero-Burgos, Elisa Hermann, Tracy Ann Richardson, Rebecca

education. \*HEDL doctoral student Tracy Ann Richardson and Dr. Silvestre co-authored and co-presented the session Necesita una jefa: Why don't we see more Latina faculty in higher education leadership? \*HIED master's student John Garza attended TACHE, his first HIED professional conference, through his sponsorship from the Division of Student Affairs.

\*HEDL doctoral students Erica Castro, Ana Maria Lopez, Rebecca Saiz and Dr. Silvestre served on the

\*Alumni and current students also served as facilitators of sessions and panels for the conference.

Saiz, and Educational Leadership faculty Dr. Ricardo Montelongo, and Dr. Gabriela Silvestre presented a panel session titled Fighting the "lack of": Illuminating representation and lighting the path in higher

Submitted by Dr. Gaby Silvestre

Congrats to all the COE students who made the Fall 2022 Dean's List! Students who made the Dean's List

If you are unable to attend either of the events, please stop by TEC 216 between March 23 - May 12 to

convenient for pick up please email your request to COE@shsu.edu with your name and t-shirt size and

claim your certificate and t-shirt. If you are unable to attend and The Woodlands Center is more

had a 3.5 GPA (or better) in the fall semester. The Dean's List Reception on March 22, 7:30 a.m. in TEC

# we will leave your items at the TWC reception desk for pick up after March 22.

Applications close April 1.

**Dean's List Reception** 

2023 Conference Committee.

You may have a friend to pick up for you, we are not able to mail items.

Read the Today@Sam article

Visit the webpage to learn more! or email hawkinsscholar@shsu.edu

Apply to be a Hawkins Scholar! Open to graduate and undergraduate education students.

### Montisha Hines-Goosby's Dissertation Proposal Defense, THE INFLUENCE OF CAMPUS CLIMATE ON IDENTITY DEVELOPMENT OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES, has been scheduled VIA Zoom for March 9, 2023, at 3:30 pm. You can access the meeting by using the Zoom ID:

**Dissertation Announcements** 

The Hawkins Scholar Program at SHSU

279 or 2:30 p.m. at The Woodlands Center East Commons.

Peggy Holzweiss, Dr. Paul Eaton & Dr. Christina Gushanas. Mary Alpaugh's Dissertation Final Defense, A STUDY OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT COREQUISITE WRITING COURSE MODELS IN THE SOUTHWEST, has been scheduled VIA Zoom

**Upcoming COE Events** 

853 0410 1008 or at https://shsu.zoom.us/j/85304101008. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr.

for March 10, 2023, at 10:30 am. You can access the meeting by using the Zoom ID: 857 2160 3082 or at https://shsu.zoom.us/j/85721603082. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Patrick Saxon, Dr.

Forrest Lane & Dr. Gabriela Silvestre.

pm, LSC Orange Ballroom

Inclusive Dialogue Book Series - Various dates, 4:00 - 5:00 pm, Zoom, contact Dr. Benita Brooks for more information

Youth Mental Health First Aid - March 10, 9:00 am - 3:00 pm, on campus, contact Dr. Daphne Johnson for more info Dean's List Reception Main Campus - March 22, 7:30 am, TEC 279

Dean's List Reception The Woodlands Center - March 22, 2:30 pm, TWC East Commons Area Scholarship and Recognition Banquet - April 14, details coming soon

Career and Internship Fair in partnership with the College of Education - March 22, 9:00 am - 12:00

Diversity Summit - April 19, 12:00-5:00 pm, LSC White Ballroom Pre-Graduation Reception - May 12, 11:30 am - 1:00 pm, TEC 279

Pinning Ceremony - details coming soon Hooding Ceremony - May 12, details coming soon

Commencement -May 12, 2:30 pm Art in Education - May 25, 4:00 pm, TEC 279





See all events



Share your news with Shelie Goodwin in the COE Communications Hub by noon on Monday. This email was sent to students in the College of Education.

Subscribe to our email list.

MEMBER THE TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM